variously known as

See: alias
References in periodicals archive ?
A LADY In New Zealand has sent me seed of Vigna caracalla, which is variously known as Phaseolus caracalla, snail flower, snail bean, corkscrew flower or the snail vine (caracol is Portugese for snail).
To put it another way, the idea that communication is what it appears to be--and that there is not some other sinister conspiracy happening beneath and within it, emblematic here in the postal conspiracy variously known as "the Tristero" or "the Trystero"--is an idea whose only unyielding proponent in this novel is a nerdy inventor who thinks that it might be possible to turn a piston just by thinking.
A blend of Pinot Noir and Gamay is variously known as Dole, Goron and Savagnin - which in itself sounds and looks like Sauvignon.
Nassella (Stipa) tenuissima is variously known as Mexican feather grass, fine stem tussock grass, Texas needle grass, pony tails, and angel's hair.
Take, for instance, the figure of William Gilbert, variously known as "the Father of Experimental Science," as an animist obsessed with "our common mother" the Earth, as an accomplished humanist, or again as tireless observer of the lowly workers of England's flourishing mining, metallurgical, and navigational industries, but never as a thinker notable from a religious standpoint.
The best characterized of these newly discovered polydnaviruses is one associated with Campoletis sonorensis, a less than half-inch long wasp that attacks two larvae -- the tobacco budworm and another that's variously known as the cotton bollworm, tomato fruitworm or corn earworm.
Improvements in the dissemination of performance data do a world of good in making what are variously known as REIT stocks, real estate stocks or property stocks even more accessible to investors everywhere.
The other ``Z'' entry here is Zephyranthes, variously known as fairy lily, rain lily and zephyr lily.
The brainchild of Jean-Bernard Pouy, a well-known author in the hybrid genre variously known as the polar (detective story) or roman noir (thriller), the series was conceived as a thinking person's pulp fiction in the tradition of Dashiell Hammett, Raymond Chandler, and Horace McCoy.
Using Lancope's Dynamic Threat Management technology, StealthWatch monitors network traffic for anomalous behavior, such as the remote scanning and probes associated with the worm variously known as DoubleTap, SQLSnake and Spida.