In his fascinating book on the Men and Names of Old Birmingham (1864), Toulmin Smith revealed that in its last years of existence the Gild "being musical, had an organist, William Bothe", who had "a handsome salary.
Furthermore a Thomas Groves was keeper of the Gild House, or Town Hall as it was called, and its gardens - for which service he lived rent free in two of the Guild's cottages.
The plates, cups and other utensils owned by gilds bear witness to the feasts and communal merrymaking which occasionally shook the hall's great timbers.
Other than by occasional gifts and legacies, gilds were financed in several ways.
The Borough of Birmingham paid pounds 50 for the licence, and the Gild
of the Holy Cross then built its hall - with its clock and chimes - at the bottom end of New Street, where the Odeon now stands and where King Edward's School used to be.